The Lubomirski Palace in Lublin is a historic building, entered in the register of monuments of the Lublin Voivodeship. The Voivodeship Conservator of Monuments approved a change in the use of the building for museum purposes. Its present shape is the result of the reconstruction in the first half of the 19th century, designed by Henryk Marconi in the classical style. Its history, however, dates back to the turn of the 16th/17th century, and at the end of the 17th century it was rebuilt by Tylman van Gameren for the Lubomirski family. The architect prepared the reconstruction project in 1693. The rich history, also related to the regaining of independence in 1918, as well as the excellent location at the central square of the city make the location of the new museum particularly attractive. Placing the institution in the historic palace will be associated with the restoration of its historic spatial layout, especially on the first floor – piano nobile. It will also be possible due to the partially preserved architectural detail, stoves, overdoors, stucco decorations and other elements of equipment, allowing the reconstruction of historical interiors. The historical narrative, entered into the museum interiors, combined with modern spatial segments, obtained due to the expansion of the palace underground part, will allow to use both traditional and definitely modern means of museum presentation.
dr Andrzej Frejlich
Head of the Department of Art and Visual Culture
of the National Museum in Lublin